The Feast – A micro fiction piece (aka a very short story).

I’ve started a new category on my blog titled: – Micro Fiction. In honor of the new category I wrote a new piece called The Feast. I hope you enjoy it.

The Feast
Written by Ben Marroquin
StoryMask.com

He lived in a stone mansion. His room on the third floor of the right wing. At night, before bed, he liked to go out on the balcony and look into the old forest. Under the gaze of the new moon it looked blue, magical.

The wind swept up to him from that forest carrying the hint of music and more.

Eyes lit up as a strange intoxicating scent entered him. Hair and skin changed to feathers, mouth to beak, and feet to talons. He spread his powerful wings and gazed in marvel, magical.

He pumped them up and down and hovered over the balcony. His eyes caught sight of other winged shapes, dancing in mid-air, on the edge of the old forest.

Eyes looked on as he laughed the mad joyous laugh of those in a world all their own. He shot out over the balcony towards the old forest. A loud crisp CRACK pierced the beauty of the night as head met concrete, magical (they grinned).

The winged shapes took form as they flocked forth from the edge of the old forest. Their eyes like beads, skin of moss covered bark, evergreen wings, and pot bellied tummies.

Knife-like claws sprouting from branching arms, filled the night wind with rhythmic clacking. Thin limbed legs with root like feet, dangled as they laughed.

They began to sing:

“Ooh it’s so deliciously sweet.
A pot bellied treat!
We’ll eat it up, eat it up.
From its head to its feet.”

They danced circles round the corpse sprawled on the ground and chattered excitedly through rows of splintered teeth. Slowly they descended; bodies trembling and claws clacking in glee as the eldest among them sang out “Let the new moon feast begin.”

About storymask

My name is Ben Marroquin. I enjoy reading, drawing (even though I'm not very good at it), music, movies, and writing. I've always had an over-active imagination so I've decided to go ahead and start putting down some of my imaginings on "paper"... so to speak. My hope is to develop a story that I can one day publish into a novel. Hope you enjoy my site. View all posts by storymask

4 responses to “The Feast – A micro fiction piece (aka a very short story).

  • mikaela marroquin

    hey uncle ben! that was awsome! and as you said its under 300 words! man if i wrote like that in class i’d get an A PLUS PLUS PLUS. i liked it alot and i;m not just tring to be nice it was GOOD! AND BESIDES I DON’T HAVE TO TRY TO BE NICE. I’AM NICE. just kidding. but honestly it was a good short story. can’t wait to read the others. bye.

    mika

  • slynne

    Hi. I really like your idea and working of the “flash fiction” idea. You’ve pulled if off very nicely here. I feel satisfied with the story, even glad at it’s compact format. Great job.

  • storymask

    Thanks for dropping by slynne, I’m glad you enjoyed it.
    ~~~~~~~~~~
    Hi, mika 🙂 Let me know when you got your blog set up.

  • writerchick

    I love your stark imagery. Beautiful. You’ve managed to really communicate in very few words. A hard task to accomplish. Great stuff.
    WC

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Thank you for stopping by and I’m glad you enjoyed it. You know, I didn’t know what flash fiction was until after I joined Clarity of Night’s writing contest this past week. I entered a story called Night Falls which is on this site. Now that I got a taste of it I’m definitely going to write more.

Leave a Reply

