Night Falls

The following is a short story I wrote for a fun writing contest taking place over at: http://clarityofnight.blogspot.com/ If your into writing, you should give it try. They provide a photo and writers create a 250 word story for it. This story is based on a cool photo of a cloud shrouded moon. Anyways, hope you enjoy it.

Night Falls
Written by: Ben Marroquin
StoryMask.com

They came in the night, unseen. Eyes of onyx, skin of shadowy leather, needle sharp teeth, and ravenous appetites for the careless.

It was our mother who spotted them first, through the bay window overlooking the garden. She gasped as cloud filtered moonlight betrayed them, revealed them flitting about outside our home.

She gathered my sisters and I in the living room by the burning fireplace. We huddled under a soft quilt, secure in her comforting embrace. We shuddered as claws raked against the walls and windows outside, but still they did not come in.

They pressed their ghastly faces against the windows and began to lick it with long jaundiced tongues as their eyes fell upon the mass of entwined flesh that was my family.

Goosebumps crawled on my flesh as they began their sick raspy chant: “Night falls, blood calls. We taste it on our lips. Its salty tang so liquid slick, come fill our empty pits.”

On and on they chanted, their bodies flailing about in dance and their voices raising in pitch, filling our very souls with their macabre chorus. Immense waves of rolling fear pounded into our hearts. We clasped one another, battling the mountainous urge to flee the safety of our home.

Then it happened, the full moon broke free from the clouds to shine brightly down on our house. It’s unfiltered beams burning into the flesh of the hideous creatures outside, making them run in pain, back to wherever they came from.

About storymask

My name is Ben Marroquin. I enjoy reading, drawing (even though I'm not very good at it), music, movies, and writing. I've always had an over-active imagination so I've decided to go ahead and start putting down some of my imaginings on "paper"... so to speak. My hope is to develop a story that I can one day publish into a novel. Hope you enjoy my site. View all posts by storymask

2 responses to “Night Falls

  • Dora

    I really enjoyed Night Falls. “You had me scared”.

  • storymask

    I’m glad to hear you liked it. I plan to do a litte editing on it later on this week. Right now I need to get to work on my StoryMask.com website since my new host just sent me word everything is ready. I will be moving my wordpress blog over there as well (but I’ll keep this site as well since it was my very first blog site).

Leave a Reply

