Writing Step 2: Developing Your Plot

Writing Step 2: Developing Your Plot
Written by: Ben Marroquin
StoryMask.com

What is a plot? According to dictionary.com it’s: The pattern of events or main story in a narrative or drama. The plot is like an outline of the events that take place in a story. It takes us from point A to point B to point C and so on in the story… all the way into its eventual conclusion. It is the sequence of events that occur in your story. Are you still unsure what a plot is? Visit http://www.learner.org/exhibits/literature/read/plot1.html or http://teenwriting.about.com/od/plotting/

What I like to do is take my one sentence idea and expand it into a summary paragraph of my story. Example:

My Idea: Strange powers awaken in a young girl.

My Plot: A girl is born with apple green cat-like eyes. One day she receives the sight and realizes that not all is as it appears. Other beings, creatures, and things walk among us. They soon realize that she is one of the gifted; they chase her down but soon realize that she has other gifts as well. Gifts that can hurt them. She wounds one of them badly and it threatens her: “No one will help you. Do you know why?… It’s because you’re one of a kind so nobody will believe dear child, they’ll think your crazy and they’ll lock you away. Do you know where they’ll lock you away?…. I didn’t think so. They’ll lock you away in the Nut House and our kind owns the Nut House.” She soon finds a mentor and they decide that the creatures must be coming from the Asylum where there final confrontation takes place.

I wrote this plot without worrying about grammar or spelling because I didn’t want it to stop the flow of creativity I had going. Besides, I can always go back later and fix those simple mistakes. My main focus was on getting the ideas of my plot out of my head and onto paper as quickly as possible before I could forget any of it. This example plot is basically an outline of the story which I’m going to write. I usually add more events and details but this example gives you a basic idea of what I’m talking about. I highly recommend you check out those websites listed above for more in-depth information on plots.

About storymask

My name is Ben Marroquin. I enjoy reading, drawing (even though I'm not very good at it), music, movies, and writing. I've always had an over-active imagination so I've decided to go ahead and start putting down some of my imaginings on "paper"... so to speak. My hope is to develop a story that I can one day publish into a novel. Hope you enjoy my site. View all posts by storymask

One response to “Writing Step 2: Developing Your Plot

Leave a Reply

